After you're involved in a car accident in New Hampshire, do you know what to do next? There are procedures that must be followed when you haven't been severely injured. If you have been, many of these tasks will be completed by the police or through interviews when you are able to report what you recall of the accident.
Of course, the very first thing to do will be to get medical help when necessary. Are you hurt? Is the other party hurt? It doesn't matter at this point who is at fault, realistically; the most important thing is to get the medical attention needed. Once all parties are treated and safe, you can move on to financial matters.
In New Hampshire, one of the most important things to remember is that you or the other party should not flee the scene. If the other party leaves the scene, the driver could face fines, an arrest or the loss of his license. Assuming that the driver stays at the scene, he should provide you with his name, address, license number, insurance information and phone number. Witnesses should provide their names and phone numbers as well, as their testimonies could be influential in your case.
Something else to remember is that if the damage to your vehicle exceeds $1,000 or if you or someone else was hurt or killed, then you need to file a New Hampshire Operator Report. This must take place within 15 days of the accident. Most of the time, if there are injuries, police will take care of this accident report when they arrive at the scene. If not, it is your legal obligation to do so.
Source: DMV.org, "Accident Guide in New Hampshire" Dec. 10, 2014