In New Hampshire misdemeanor offenses can be categorized in three classes, A, B, and C each with differing severity levels and respected consequences. Listed are definitions and examples of misdemeanor classes to better understand a case.
New Hampshire, 2023
A misdemeanor is a lesser criminal offense that is punishable by a fine and/or up to one year in jail. Misdemeanor offenses are less serious than felonies, which are punishable by more than one year in prison. In New Hampshire, misdemeanor offenses are divided into three classes: Class A, Class B, and Class C.
Class A misdemeanors are the most serious of the three classes, and are punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Examples of Class A misdemeanors in New Hampshire include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Possession of a controlled drug
Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,200.
Examples of Class B misdemeanors in New Hampshire include:
- Simple assault
- Criminal mischief
- Disorderly conduct
- Theft of property worth less than $1,000
Class C misdemeanors are the least serious of the three classes, and are punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,200.
Examples of Class C misdemeanors in New Hampshire include:
- Violating a city or town ordinance
- Possession of a small amount of marijuana
- Criminal trespassing
- Public intoxication
Consequences of Misdemeanors
In addition to the above penalties, those convicted of a misdemeanor offense in New Hampshire may also be required to pay restitution to the victim(s), perform community service, and/or attend counseling or treatment programs.
It is important to note that a conviction for a misdemeanor offense can have serious consequences beyond the punishment imposed by the court. For example, a person convicted of a misdemeanor offense may have difficulty finding employment or housing, as many employers and landlords perform background checks on potential employees and tenants.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor offense in New Hampshire, it is important to seek the advice of a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney can help you understand the charges against you and the potential consequences of a conviction, and can work with you to develop a strong defense strategy to protect your rights and interests.
Plea Bargain Agreement
In New Hampshire, as in other states, it is possible for a person charged with a misdemeanor to have their case dismissed or reduced to a lesser offense through a plea bargain. This is an agreement between the prosecutor and the defendant, in which the defendant agrees to plead guilty to a lesser offense in exchange for a lighter sentence or the dismissal of certain charges. A plea bargain can be a good option for those who do not believe they have a strong defense against the charges and want to minimize the consequences of a conviction. However, it is important to discuss the potential pros and cons of a plea bargain with a criminal defense attorney before making any decisions.
If you are facing misdemeanor charges in New Hampshire, it is important to take the charges seriously and seek the advice of a qualified criminal defense attorney. With the help of an experienced attorney, you can protect your rights and work towards a favorable resolution of your case.